Rental Safety & Operation Rules
All renters must be at least 18 years old and have a valid driver’s license.
Please arrive no later than 30 minutes prior to your reserved rental time.
You must wear clothing appropriate for being out on the water and getting wet; a wet suit is recommended; if you don’t have one, you may rent one. Please remember to wear sunscreen.
Denim shorts or jeans will not be permitted on the jet skis.
NO REFUNDS. If a reservation has to be cancelled due to inclement weather conditions prior to commencement of rental, we will try to reschedule for a later date or, if preferred, a full refund will be provided. If a rental that has already commenced has to be cut short due to inclement weather conditions, a prorated refund will be provided. We reserve the right to alter or terminate a rental due to security, weather, or any other reason deemed necessary.
THINGS TO KNOW
Kawasaki Jet skis are high-performance boats, not toys. All renters will receive training on how to safely operate a jet ski. We encourage anyone interested in renting a jet ski from us to complete the online Personal Watercraft Safety course offered by the Texas Park & Wildlife Department prior to your rental. www.BoaterExam.com
Texas Boater Safety Course
Texas has a mandatory education law for certain boaters. All boaters born after August 31, 1993, must complete a TPWD-approved course (SEE ONLINE COURSE) and be certified with the TPWD to operate:
- Any vessel over 15 horse power.
- Any windblown vessel over 14 feet.
- All personal watercraft
Personal Watercraft (PWC) Age Requirements
- 12 years of age or younger: An adult (18 years of age or older) must be present on the watercraft while anyone 12 years of age or younger is operating a PWC.
- 13 - 17 years of age: An adult (18 years of age or older) must be present on the watercraft while anyone 13 - 17 years of age is operating a PWC. Unless, the operator has successfully completed a Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Approved Safe Boating Course.
- Persons subject to this law must have a picture identification card and a boater certification card issued by the department in their possession.
You may not operate a PWC in any of the following negligent manners:
(Any violation will result in termination of rental time with no refund)
- Operating a personal watercraft under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Jumping or attempting to jump the wake of another vessel within 100 feet of that vessel
- Riding backwards and/or standing on the seat of the craft while riding
- Weaving through and recklessly operating in areas of congestion
- Speeding in restricted areas such as marinas, no wake zones, environmentally sensitive areas or operating in a manner that endangers the life, limb or property of any person, including the operator. (i.e. splashing other PWC’s or swimmers, buzzing piers and other boaters, etc.)
- Operating a personal watercraft between the hours of sunset and sunrise
- Allowing children under the age of 6 to ride behind an adult
- Operating a personal watercraft without a life jacket or kill switch attached
- Exceeding the number of people or weight limits listed on the capacity plate
- Operating a personal watercraft outside the designated boundary area
- Operating a personal watercraft in a circular course around fishermen or swimmers
- Moor or attach to any buoy, beacon, light marker, stake, flag or other aid to safe operation, or to move, remove or, displace, tamper with, damage or destroy the same
- Anchoring in the traveled portion of any river or channel so as to prevent, impede, or interfere with safe passage of any other boat through the same area
- Operating a personal watercraft within an area designated as bathing, fishing, swimming, or otherwise restricted
- Engaging in water skiing, surfboarding or other similar activity
- Swimming or diving within two hundred yards of any sight-seeing or excursion boat except for maintenance purposes or unless within an enclosed area
- Operating within 50 feet of a "Diver Down Flag" or operate a boat within 150 feet of a "Diver Down Flag" except at Headway/Steerage Speed
- Fueling the watercraft with any person aboard
- Failing to comply with the U.S. Coast Guard Inland Rules